Elsa being Elsa

Sometimes you need two litter boxes.

Seriously. 

For a while, I’ve not been able to get into the mind of my wonder cat Elsa.

Elsa sometimes pops up on my social media. I love this cat. She’s why I’m a cat person.

Silly and distant. Until she isn’t

One minute she’s cuddled up in a ball exposing her belly and submitting.

It’s a trap, it’s all a trap. A diversion for her to make  your hand and wrist a pin cushion for her teeth and claws.

Then, like a game, I’m left with a bloody stump.

She rubs against me with a purr.

She’s inconsistent, like life. She’s unpredictable and a diva in every sense of the word.

Obnoxious and suffers no fool gladly.

They say calicos are like that. The most eccentric of all the cats.

That’s probably not true. 

 just a regular animal. Nothing unique, other than my novel notions.

For a while, despite a clean litter box, Elsa, refused to use it. Corners of the basement AROUND the box were a virtual minefield of… Well stuff.

A few weeks ago, she started making her mark on the bathroom floor. 

My first thought, I’ll just leave the lid up. She’ll make the connection. Of course she didn’t.

No pun intended, but, she needed to cut the crap.

But she still found her way in. Right next to the shower. Like clockwork.

Instead, it dawned on me – she likes the bathroom.

Last week I made a second box. Same liter, same everything.

Wouldn’t you know, she loves it

It taught me a lesson. For most of life there are no hard and fast rules. 

All we have are guidelines and boundaries. 

We have to figure it out. It means digging in, investing energy and making mistakes.

Like Elsa, relationships and adversity and success, has unique routes.

Principles don’t change. But, we need to make them work for us with a commitment to truth and integrity.

I’m still figuring it out. 

In the meantime. 

The bathroom floor is staying clean. The rest of the house is next. 

Little by little.