It’s days like today I’m thankful I wasn’t born in the Leo school district (That’s satire, don’t come at me).

It’s good-spirited, decent people like Billy King who stand in the gap. I needed a ride, Billy answered the call. You see Woodlan people love you like family. At least that’s my experience.

Decades after my time at Woodlan, it’s still family.

Folks who love you like you are, stubborn enough to speak the truth and happy to knock you on your butt.

Then pick you up if you need it. Trust me, we all need it.

(Billy was allegedly a part of one of the greatest stunts ever pulled at Woodlan, the great brown-bag lunch strike. Talk about peaceful protests)

People who love you like they work. If you don’t like it, we don’t care, we’ll love you anyway.

That’s just how it is. It’s part of our culture. how we were raised, its how we try to raise our kids but still goof up.

It’s how legendary coaches like Leland Etzler, Ed Delong and Gay Martin in quiet and not so quiet ways won championships – by building character.

Even if you are a Lion and bleed purple, okay, I love you too. It’s just more effort.

We #MakeItHappen